Rivertown Heroes (Paperback)

Rivertown Heroes By Mike Cohen Cover Image
$11.30
Available - On our shelves now
1 on hand, as of Aug 7 3:18pm
(LOCAL AUTHORS)

Description


Rivertown Heroes is a Watergate era tale told by Nathan Hirsch, a young, anxious, and self-critical DC lawyer burdened with guilt from his past. Fueled by a poisonous concoction of ambition and insecurity, Nathan attempts a scheme so disloyal to his law firm that he barely skirts disbarment and is forced to end his practice in the nation's capital.

Nathan retreats to his hometown Bethell, Washington depending upon family and old ties to salvage his tainted career. His dream of escape fades into a dreary reality when Nathan takes a humble job as a public defender arranged by his "Uncle" Harry King, a lawyer, and Nathan's childhood mentor.

But When Nathan represents an indigent defendant wrongly accused of murdering a Hirsch family friend, the case's twists and turns point responsibility at Harry King and other Hirsch family intimates. As he pursues the truth, risking disbarment and damage to his extended family, Nathan finds solace and possibly romance with Katie, his dead brother's former girlfriend.

Lawyer Mike Cohen makes his fictional debut in this intense coming of age tale of fidelity, community, and justice. Fans of Scott Turow's and David Guterson's complex legal novels will welcome this work to the genre.

About the Author


Lawyer Mike Cohen has applied over four decades of legal practice to his first book, Rivertown Heroes, a vivid coming-of-age story and gripping legal mystery. Cohen has experienced the legal profession from a variety of perspectives: he's worked as a Washington State Supreme Court law clerk, a white collar crime prosecutor, founded his own small law firm, and has practiced as a senior partner in a multinational law firm. A student at Georgetown Law Center in the 1960s, Cohen specializes today in estates, trusts, and related litigation, and has used his background to create a realistic and absorbing legal tale. Born in the Midwest, Cohen currently lives with his family in the Pacific Northwest.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781532879258
ISBN-10: 1532879253
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: October 21st, 2016
Pages: 308
Language: English