Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey Cover Image
$16.99
Available - On our shelves now
7 on hand, as of Oct 26 8:03am
(JUVENILE EARLY READERS L)

Staff Reviews


Absolutely darling! Marisol is a kid with a great imagination. While this is fun when she's playing with her best friend, Jada, or naming the various inanimate objects in her life (e.g., the fridge, Buster Keaton), it's NOT so fun when thinking of just how tall Peppina is, and the many ways Marisol could tumble from her branches. Peppina, of course, is the tree in Marisol's backyard. But maybe, maybe, Marisol will be brave and try to climb her. Maybe.

— From Ellen

Precious! I thought it was cool that Marisol's dad lives apart from the family much of the time because he works on an oil rig. Marisol herself is delightfully weird-- she loves silent movies, has four stuffed animal cats named after her favorite foods (Nacho, Lumpia, Banana Split and Pot Roast), and has a real gen of a best friend in Jada, who is fun and supportive of her in every way. In this book, Marisol works up her courage to climb the tree in her pack yard (which she names "Peppina") by the end. Very sweet! --Tegan

— From Early Reader Book Recommendations

May/June 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“Marisol really wants to climb her backyard tree but she is terrified! Really, what kid hasn’t ever needed to overcome a fear? Thank goodness Marisol has a best friend who loves and cheers for her, unconditionally. Short chapters and manageable sentences makes this a perfect first chapter book!”
— Stephanie Jalowiec, The Book Cabin (NY), Lake George, NY

Description


“Utterly endearing!” —Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books

"Hilarious and heart-melting.” —Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax

Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey—an irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling Erin Entrada Kelly!

Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is an illustrated novel about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears, told with warm humor and undeniable appeal. Fans of Clementine, The Year of Billy Miller, and Ramona the Pest will be thrilled to meet Marisol.

Marisol Rainey’s mother was born in the Philippines. Marisol’s father works and lives part-time on an oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico. And Marisol, who has a big imagination and likes to name inanimate objects, has a tree in her backyard she calls Peppina . . . but she’s way too scared to climb it. This all makes Marisol the only girl in her small Louisiana town with a mother who was born elsewhere and a father who lives elsewhere (most of the time)—the only girl who’s fearful of adventure and fun.

Will Marisol be able to salvage her summer and have fun with Jada, her best friend? Maybe. Will Marisol figure out how to get annoying Evie Smythe to leave her alone? Maybe. Will Marisol ever get to spend enough real time with her father? Maybe. Will Marisol find the courage to climb Peppina? Maybe. 

Told in short chapters with illustrations by the author on nearly every page, Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is a must-have for early elementary grade readers. Erin Entrada Kelly celebrates the small but mighty Marisol, the joys of friendship, and the triumph of overcoming your fears in this stunning new novel for readers of Kevin Henkes, Meg Medina, Andrew Clements, Sara Pennypacker, and Kate DiCamillo. 

Features black-and-white artwork throughout by Erin Entrada Kelly.

About the Author


New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly was awarded the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe and a Newbery Honor for We Dream of Space. She grew up in Lake Charles, Louisiana, and now lives in Delaware. She is a professor of children’s literature in the graduate fiction and publishing programs at Rosemont College, where she earned her MFA, and is on the faculty at Hamline University. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Philippines Free Press Literary Award for Short Fiction and the Pushcart Prize. Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was a Kirkus Best Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, an ALSC Notable Book, and an Asian/Pacific American Literature Honor Book. She is also the author of The Land of Forgotten Girls, winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature; You Go First, a Spring 2018 Indie Next Pick; Lalani of the Distant Sea, an Indie Next Pick; and Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey, which she also illustrated. The author’s mother was the first in her family to immigrate to the United States from the Philippines, and she now lives in Cebu.



New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly was awarded the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe and a Newbery Honor for We Dream of Space. She grew up in Lake Charles, Louisiana, and now lives in Delaware. She is a professor of children’s literature in the graduate fiction and publishing programs at Rosemont College, where she earned her MFA, and is on the faculty at Hamline University. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Philippines Free Press Literary Award for Short Fiction and the Pushcart Prize. Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was a Kirkus Best Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, an ALSC Notable Book, and an Asian/Pacific American Literature Honor Book. She is also the author of The Land of Forgotten Girls, winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature; You Go First, a Spring 2018 Indie Next Pick; Lalani of the Distant Sea, an Indie Next Pick; and Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey, which she also illustrated. The author’s mother was the first in her family to immigrate to the United States from the Philippines, and she now lives in Cebu.

Praise For…


“Erin Entrada Kelly is supremely perceptive, as always, and Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey is utterly endearing! Anyone who has ever felt shy or shaky will find a soul mate and an inspiration in Marisol.”
— Annie Barrows, New York Times–bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books

“Hilarious and heart-melting—Marisol charmed me! More, please.”
— Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax

“From the author of the Newbery Award–winning Hello, Universe, this perceptive story focuses on Marisol, an imaginative Filipina American girl . . . The first volume in the Maybe Marisol series is an immediately engaging and ultimately rewarding choice for readers moving up to chapter books.”
Booklist (starred review)

“Marisol is a young Filipina living in Louisiana, while also residing in her own little world. She notices things that most people would overlook . . . Endearing, relatable Marisol is also plagued by anxieties of all sorts. This story contains adorable yet thought-provoking conversations . . . A great read for upper elementary children. With occasional, whimsical illustrations, it will keep even the most reluctant readers entertained.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Kelly reaches out to a younger audience in an approachable chapter book about thoughtful worrier Marisol. . . . She can’t imagine what it feels like to give a book report without quaking, or to visit her extended family in the Philippines—much less what it would feel like to be brave enough to climb the tree. . . . The story’s tension is built from the skillful accumulation of small moments and the strong character development. Frequent delightfully quirky line drawings by the author add humor and personality.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

“A book of truths, witty insights and metaphors, and — for the first time — Kelly’s own illustrations, which are lightheartedly poignant.”
New York Times

“A sweet story of a girl trying to overcome her fears and anxieties. Marisol’s story also touches on friendship, bullies, siblings, having a parent who lives away from home, and having a parent from another country. . . . There’s no maybe about it; readers will enjoy this charming story.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Newbery Medalist Kelly once again shows a knack for capturing a childlike perspective as Marisol navigates her feelings: avoiding a school bully and navigating her identity, finding the courage to ride her bike past a frightening dog, and debating whether to admit her fears . . . There is no calamitous “do-or-die” moment that forces Marisol to confront her fear; instead, Kelly lets Marisol ease her way through it, in the process offering a clear message about doing things in one’s own time.”
Publishers Weekly

“Marisol worries about a lot of things, and she also worries that she worries so much . . . Kelly offers a compassionate portrait of an anxious kid, and Marisol’s inner dialogue—and particularly her inner criticism—will likely ring true for any kid who’s been accused of being too sensitive.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A delightful, relatable story about friendship and courage . . . Anyone who has ever had trouble feeling brave will be empowered by Marisol.”
— NBC News


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062970428
ISBN-10: 0062970429
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: May 4th, 2021
Pages: 160
Language: English
Series: Maybe Marisol