Literature Lover recommendations

Shopping for someone who loves a good novel? We have picks for different tastes. 

A Gentleman in Moscow Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780670026197
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - September 6th, 2016

Wendee says: The literary fiction knock-out of the year (in my humble opinion). Count Alexander Ilych Rostov is exiled by a Bolshevik tribunal to life in the world-class Metropol Hotel. Here Rostov makes a life so rich and full, the reader nearly forgets his exiled status. Each scene sparkles, and when strung together this book dazzles and entertains. Give it to Everyone.

Mara says: This is my favorite book handsdown this year. You might remember this author’s last title Rules of Civility (a wonderful book as well) well Towles does not disappoint here, in fact he steps it up a notch.


The Underground Railroad Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385542364
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday Books - August 2nd, 2016

An engaging, powerful story propelled by the lore of the underground railroad;in this scenario actual railways transport slaves away from the inhumanity of plantation life. A masterful, timely call for examination of prejudices in past and present. It also encourages awareness for present and future. For the reader of historical, literary, fable-like fiction. -Janis (Judy seconds!)


Your Heart Is a Muscle the Size of a Fist Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316386555
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lee Boudreaux / Back Bay Books - October 18th, 2016

Tegan says: Your Heart is a Muscle the Size of Your Fist by Sunil Yapa is a great paperback for fans of Jonathan Safran Foer, Dave Eggers, and edgy and socially-aware fiction. It’s a stunning novel set in Seattle during the WTO protests.  


Staff Pick Logo
The Other Einstein Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781492637257
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - October 18th, 2016

Tegan says: Shopping for someone who loves historical fiction like Nancy Horan’s books and The Paris Wife? Choose this! Richly researched and imagined. It's told from the point of view of Einstein's first wife-- rich with themes of feminism and feminity, career vs. family, intellectual and physical passion, and identity.