David

David loves history and science fiction books. His natural enthusiasms have a wide range, many stemming from his very interesting background. David is an ex-firefighter, starting medical school in the fall, and has done non-profit leadership work in Russia. 

 


 

Staff Pick Logo
Redeployment Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143126829
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - February 24th, 2015

*Holiday 2015 Recommendation*

In the vein of
The Things They Carried, Klay’s National Book Award Winner follows marines in both Afghanistan and Iraq experience war in all its harshness, brutality and helplessness and the often devastating effects of returning home. This collection of short stories is simply phenomenal and is clearly destined to be one of the great war-novels of all time.


Staff Pick Logo
The Bar Book: Elements of Cocktail Technique Cover Image
By Jeffrey Morgenthaler, Martha Holmberg (With), Alanna Hale (Photographer)
$30.00
ISBN: 9781452113845
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Chronicle Books (CA) - June 3rd, 2014

*Holiday 2015 Recommendation*

That’s right, technique. Unlike other books which are full of complex recipes and daunting to even the most seasoned home-bartender, Morgenthaler’s book explores the technical side of crafting the perfect cocktail. How exactly do you make strawberry liqueurs at home? What is the proper way to shake vs. stir certain drinks? With step by step guides and photographs, this is the must have book for the home bartender.


Staff Pick Logo
Ancillary Justice Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316246620
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - October 1st, 2013

*Holiday 2015 Recommendation*

A groundbreaking science-fiction series, these exquisitely well-written novels offer a world for the discerning literary and nerd alike. Similar to Dune in its cultural impact and broad audience, Ancillary Justice has won the 2014 Hugo Award for Best Novel as well as the Nebula Award, the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and the BSFA Award.


Staff Pick Logo
Saga Volume 1 Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781607066019
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Image Comics - October 23rd, 2012

*Holiday 2015 Recommendation*

Controversial, epic and utterly crazy, Saga follows the story of two lovers from different sides in a massive civil war and their struggle to survive. These graphic novels are perfect for fans of Joss Whedon’s Firefly series and will leave you breathless. They have won an astounding 15 national awards including the Hugo, Eisner and Harvey awards, multiple years in a row.


Staff Pick Logo
The Martian Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780553418026
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Broadway Books - October 28th, 2014

*Holiday 2015 Recommendation*

Few books this year have had as much press or scrutiny as The Martian, and for good reason. This is one heck of a book; think of it as Hatchet for adults [in space]. Filled with natural humor, surprising heart and phenomenal writing, it is everything you could want in a science thriller.


Staff Pick Logo
The Conquering Tide: War in the Pacific Islands, 1942-1944 Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780393080643
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 21st, 2015

*Holiday 2015 Recommendation*

This is the story of the largest, bloodiest, most costly, most technically innovative and logistically complicated amphibious war in history. Spanning the years 1942-1944, Toll brings together the vast scope of the Pacific Theater during WWII into a concise, exceptionally researched and riveting story of a world caught off guard and the uphill struggle against an empire. This is the second book in the Pacific War Trilogy, the first complete history of the Pacific War written in the last 25 years.


Staff Pick Logo
City of Thieves Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780452295292
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Plume Books - April 1st, 2009

The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802121998
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grove Press - October 8th, 2013

Ender's Game Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780812550702
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - April 5th, 1996

The 12 Bottle Bar: A Dozen Bottles. Hundreds of Cocktails. A New Way to Drink. Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780761174943
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Workman Publishing - July 29th, 2014

Sparky! Cover Image
By Jenny Offill, Chris Appelhans (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780375870231
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Schwartz & Wade Books - March 11th, 2014

Blankets: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781891830433
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Top Shelf Productions - August 18th, 2003